Kindle Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I am pretty new to the whole publishing thing. I just released my second book in a series of six. The rest will be released every-other-month through the rest of the year. Sales so far are slow, but see first sentence, it's not exactly a shocker ;D

What I'm having trouble with at this point is figuring out WHEN to start trying to market my books. I didn't want to waste money or momentum on ads and such when I only had one book out and thus no back list for "sell through" purposes. I'm not sure when would be a good, reasonable time to start though. I've done much googling on the subject, but the advice I've found seems kind of contradictory and I'm not sure what to make of it. I've seen everything from "I regret not marketing my books until I had x number out" to "advertising is useless before you have x number out" (and "x number" varies!)

I would love to hear your thoughts on this and, perhaps most helpfully from my perspective, why you feel the way you do about it. I have ZERO experience or background in any kind of marketing or sales, so I feel like I am missing some crucial part of this equation that would help me make a good decision. I don't want to jump the gun on this and waste my limited budget. Thank you very much for any help!

·
Registered
6,898 Posts
If I had my time back, this is what I would have done:

1. Set up my mailing list early. It takes forever to grow, so it's nice starting early. Mine is still quite small, but it always gets me a few sales. And, as it grows, it gets me a few more sales with each release.
2. I would focused on getting more longer works out. I love writing short stories and I don't regret having written any of them. I simply wish I'd rearranged my release schedule a bit to allow for a couple of longer books first.