Kindle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts

·
Registered
145 Posts
Personally, I like the idea of adding the MC to the cover, but I don't think the design looks great. The way the woman's image is incorporated doesn't mesh well enough; it looks homemade. And it looks like she's actively avoiding the title, which is weird. I'm not a cover designer, so I can't suggest how to fix it, but I would say keep working on it.

·
Registered
294 Posts
I agree with ShawnaReads.

I like the idea of incorporating the model but it doesn't look right as is, and I don't like the title font on the first one/the spacing is off.

So I'd choose the second if I had to right now.

·
Registered
755 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Bite the Dusty said:
I agree with ShawnaReads.

I like the idea of incorporating the model but it doesn't look right as is, and I don't like the title font on the first one/the spacing is off.

So I'd choose the second if I had to right now.
Thanks for replying. Do you think she would be better dressed with more clothes?

·
Registered
267 Posts
I'd choose the one without the woman, very captivating, and play with font a little ...  I'm not a cover designer, but am a photographer and make my own covers, only ... not for hire.

·
Registered
1,115 Posts

Your first cover pops more. Although the 'Danger' line needs some blurring behind it.

If you want the actress, can you shrink her? Push her perspective back and bring the darkness of the background back into balance?

Or shrink "The" so the title can move up higher and you can make "Danger" and "List" more prominent. Use some shadowing behind the title (often easiest to make two copies of the text, make them black, offset each of them a pixel or three). As-is "Danger" gets connected with the building lights.

·
Registered
53 Posts
I am going to chime here.

I really liked the first cover. It’s mysterious and it does pop. I don’t think you need the woman at all

·
Registered
573 Posts