Kindle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
737 Posts
I'm a K2 newbie but this whispersync feature looks like a waste of Kindle developers time to me.  Many more Kindle users want folders/tabs than the ability keep track of reading location between two Kindles.  Why did dev waste time/effort on WS?  Where are they going with this?

OP:
You need to turn off sync, either on menu or Amazon Kindle page.

·
Registered
1,209 Posts
Yeah, I was just wondering about that last night.  My husband and I both have Kindles, and often read the same book.  Why on earth would I want to have my Kindle go to the page he is on, or vice versa?

Strange that they would develop a feature that I've never heard of anyone requesting, as opposed to many suggestions people have made that would be helpful.

I love the new way to delete on K1 after the 1.2 firmware update, so that is a positive step.

·
Registered
3,128 Posts
Trekker said:
Do you leave whispernet on all the time? It may work better that way. I only turn it on when I want to download a book.

The only thing I can think is that when I turned it on, I didn't give it enough time to send the latest info to the server. But still, I don't see how K2 got synced with an earlier copy. Bizarre.
No I do not leave whispernet all the time. I do make sure both Kindles have wispernet on when I am going to synced a book. In fact after your post I went to check it out and most of the books I am reading on my K2 were at the right pages on K1 except for a couple of them which I synced with no problem.I could see how both books being synced to the same place could be a problem if two people were reading the same books and were at a different place in the book. I do make sure that I give enough time for the wispernet to turn on K1 and K2

·
Registered
298 Posts