Kindle Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
I'm a newbie with a price-changing question. I started out at 99c, made a few sales, then was curious to see if I could sell at $1.59. I now want to put the price back to 99c, but am unsure if it will annoy/upset the people who bought at the higher price (OK, it was only 50c and there were only two of them) if they see it has gone back down to 99c?

Before I put the price back, what are other writers' experiences of this?

·
Registered
686 Posts
This is great thread.

I’m also thinking of changing the price of my first three novels from $2.99 to $0.99 (but only for the summer).  

My question is how do I promote the price change (apart from my twitter, facebook, etc)?  Are there websites I need to contact?

·
Registered
3,548 Posts
I raised the price of my two books to $2.99 and my ranking dropped drastically. So I've just dropped the price again to 99 cents. Things have picked up slighly.

The most important thing to do is get back to your writing. Sales are going to suffer with the Amazon deals and summer around the corner. ;)

·
Registered
951 Posts
rsullivan9597 said:
I moved the first book in the Soldier of the Legion Series by Marshall Thomas to $0.99 and it that has been great for him. In May he sold more than 17,700 books (prices from $0.99 - $4.99). for the first 5 days of June he sold another 3,300+
And I think it was a good choice to lower his first book as an enticement. I really like your staggered pricing on the series.

·
Registered
382 Posts
What we all have to remember is that pricing is a marketing tool. We did a blog post over at Write It Forward and Bob Mayer discusses it here somewhere on the boards.

We lead one book in a series at .99 and the rest are 2.99. Our sales of the 2.99 books are selling now just as well, but it took time to get us there. I think when you have more than one book it is a more effective tool.

·
Registered
613 Posts