Kindle Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
1,585 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I write because my day job is demanding and discourages 'creativity.'
My writing helps me leave the stress of the real world behind and acts as 'safety valve'. Writing is an addiction - I get twitchy and cranky if deprived of time at the keyboard...

So how about you? I'm curious as to why other people write...

·
Registered
2,475 Posts
I first started writing to learn how to use a word processor (Word Perfect I seem to recall) when I got my first computer (A 486 with a 120Mb Hard Drive). It was only meant to be a short story, but I enjoyed the experience and found I was quite good at it, so it evolved into a 127K word novel. I have continued purely because I enjoy storytelling and love the reaction of people who read it; especially family, who can't believe that it's actually me who wrote what they're reading. And of course there's the money ......... no, wait a minute ........ not even enough to declare to the tax man!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Ian

·
Registered
548 Posts
It's probably going to sound really cheesy and cliche, but it's the truth.

When I read a really good book, I forget about all the bad stuff that's going on in my life. I see things happen in books that I sometimes wish would happen in my life, and I see other things that make me wonder how people survive through it. Because they do. I'm a cynical person. I fully believe that nothing in life is guaranteed and not everyone will have their happy ending or their happily ever after. But when I'm reading, it makes me believe that sometimes it does happen. And better, it makes me believe it *can* happen. To me. To anyone.