Kindle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 96 Posts
J

·
0 Posts
Yeah, there's a lot of crap advice out there. To the extent that I've succeeded in this business, it's in spite of all the advice I've read, not because of any of it.

Good luck, and I hope you're able to make writing fun for yourself again!

·
Registered
1,553 Posts
I never started reading about writing. I just wrote.  ;D It's not a theory I studied the formula of, it's something I feel.

·
Registered
130 Posts
Joe Vasicek said:
Yeah, there's a lot of crap advice out there. To the extent that I've succeeded in this business, it's in spite of all the advice I've read, not because of any of it.
A good rule of thumb: ignore any headline that begins "Ten [or insert number of your choice] things you are doing wrong RIGHT NOW." Another good rule: If someone insults you, don't give them money.

·
Registered
2,678 Posts
Perhaps he learned more than he thought he did, reading about writing--then reached his personal limit. I get this. I really do. And I get that many cannot afford all the advice to spend money that they don't have on things they are capable of doing themselves. And it's depressing to keep hearing the same old spend, spend, spend when personal bank accounts say otherwise.

In the end, writers need to write and (in these times) publish as they see fit. Money can buy fancy covers and even professional blurbs, but it can't buy story-telling skills.

Letting too many voices swarm in the creative brain can paralyze it.

W

·
0 Posts