Kindle Forum banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
327 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Is Sherlock Holmes so popular because he is the world's best known detective, is it the new ELEMENTARY TV series?

My favorite is "Jack the Ripper versus Sherlock Holmes." With 6 illustrations. The historically accurate treatment of Jack the Ripper and his crimes, and his interaction with Sherlock Holmes, make this IMHO a very striking book.

Read what you like, like what you read- good reading!

Phillip Duke Ph.D.

·
Registered
2,716 Posts
Hmm. I've dabbled in writing my own Sherlock Holmes continuation, but Case Book is still under copyright in the US, until 2023. My ideas build off that, so I've tabled them, for now, though I suppose I could write and release it only in specific countries wherein the book's in the public domain.

(Note: I'm not a lawyer, and this isn't legal advice. I'm just conveying my own understanding of what's going on with the character's copyright and what I'm doing because of that understanding.)

·
Registered
951 Posts
Was this thread made just to promote your book?

Mind, you I like Sherlock Holmes. I watch Elementary, but like it despite what they did to the characters. I'd have liked them better if they weren't specifically Sherlock and Watson. Probably more disappointed, because I love the BBC version of Sherlock with Benedict Cumberbatch and Martin Freeman.

·
Registered
951 Posts
Carradee said:
Hmm. I've dabbled in writing my own Sherlock Holmes continuation, but Case Book is still under copyright in the US, until 2023. My ideas build off that, so I've tabled them, for now, though I suppose I could write and release it only in specific countries wherein the book's in the public domain.
Since the characters and certain trade dress is trademarked you have to go through the estate anyway to get a license to use them. You might be able to see if they allow you use to make a derivative work before the story itself goes into public domain.

·