Kindle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
172 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
A study by PricewaterhouseCoopers has some pretty scary numbers...

Honestly, I have been a print newspaper subscriber my whole life. (I'm 28.) My parents picked up the tab when I lived at home and I paid for my paper to come to my dorm when I was a freshman in college and ever since. I tried the Washington Post subscription on the Kindle2 and I did not keep it, but I did like reading it in that format.

If my local paper generates a Kindle edition, I think I would switch to an e-ink version.

What do you think?

·
Registered
607 Posts
I think it depends on the paper and the person.

For example, my father travels a great deal for work.  So for him being able to get The Wall Street Journal downloaded no matter where he's hiding would be great (though he would need to be able to get it overseas).  But like most people, he's not going to download The USA Today, since he doesn't read it at home and gets it for free at most US hotels.  My mom wouldn't mind getting the paper from some towns they used to live.  She loved reading the police blotter in Durango, which mostly consisted of raccoons and the odd "complaint of prowler, found bear". 

My local paper (The Denver Post) has gone dramatically downhill.  Full of fluff pieces, taking press releases at their face value, lack of critical thinking or in-depth analysis.  It's like a high school paper with a bigger budget.  The only decent articles are actually from the AP. 

I think the trend may become micro-payments.  News articles from all over the world, pick the one you think is interesting or is highly rated by other readers and pay your $0.25 to read the article.  Whether you get your articles on a laptop or a Kindle maybe a moot point, rather like "would you rather have on Apple or PC", they will both be available. 

Lara Amber

·
Registered
205 Posts