Kindle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 58 Posts

·
Registered
230 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Is there any solution for this? I haven't written a story in a while and even though I studied this genre I am new to writing it. I have read lots of books in this genre while studying for genre tropes, conventions and plot points, but when it comes to prose I never considered that I would have any issues. Surprisingly I have no issues with my outline, I usually deviate from it anyways, but whenever I am showing it still looks robotic to me.

I have followed outlines before while writing so I am not sure what to do.

·
Registered
920 Posts
Keep going. Sometimes, when you haven't written for a while, you just need time to knock the rust off. Also, if you're new to the genre and the characters, it might take you a while to get a feel for both.
Yes ^ keep going. As some wise person once said (was it Hemmingway??? I'm not sure, anyway ...) "write fearlessly; edit rushlessly!"

Forge ahead and don't look back until you've finished your 1st draft. You can then sort out the current issues on your 1st edit.

·
Registered
587 Posts
I think Shayne is on the right idea. A lot of times my first edit is all about taking things that developed later in the story and adding them to the beginning. Little character traits and habits take time for me to get going, but then I just put them back at the start and no one is ever the wiser. But sometimes it just takes a little plowing through to really get into the world, or at least it does for me.

·
Registered
56 Posts