Kindle Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
208 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
For my Vella project I decided to use a teenager MC since Vella will likely be aimed at a younger audience.

However, I've decided to switch to multiple POV's instead of just that one character.

So now I'm wondering if I should make all my other POV's teenagers as well, or can I use some adults in the mix?

I've never written (or read) YA before, so I'm hesitant how to approach this.

PS. The initial teenager will remain my main POV character, if that makes a difference.

·
Registered
69 Posts
Making all the POV characters teens is smart, but not if it hurts the story. YA has adults ofc but I've never seen their POV featured.

·
Registered
705 Posts
I really like the idea, but I'm not a YA person, so grain of salt here for sure. It might be something that falls on the older end of YA. Somewhat older readers might want to see adult perspectives happening at the same time as their protagonists, but I could see it not landing as well on the younger end of YA. Maybe it's something that could be perfect for readers who are "growing out" of YA. Like, readers who have read a lot of YA and still love the genre but are starting to look for something new. I feel like a lot of stories for younger readers are samey-samey, which makes sense because they're written for readers who haven't read a ton of stories before. It sounds like an awesome idea, but like I said, I'm no YA expert. If it was me though, I'd definitely try to aim the story towards an older YA reader rather than a younger one.

·
Registered
208 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·